CHORI Staff Directory
CHORI Intranet

Just Desserts
CHORI Scientists Earn National Recognition

CHORI would like to offer hearty congratulations to CHORI Principal Investigators Deborah Dean, MD, Janet King, PhD, Elizabeth Theil, PhD, and Elliot Vichinsky, MD, each of whom has received outstanding recognition of their efforts in their individual fields.

Dr. Dean, a CHORI scientist in the Center for Immunobiology and Vaccine Development, is the recipient of the prestigious 2007 American Society for Microbiology International Professorship. The highly competitive program is designed to facilitate international exchanges of research and resources.

"It's about educational exchange, research exchange, and the opportunity to collaborate and help get a developing country up to speed," says Dr. Dean, who will teach a course entitled 'Molecular Diagnosis of Chlamydia trachomatis Infections' at the Pontifica Universidad Catolica del Ecuador.

Dr. King, a CHORI scientist in the Centers for Nutrition and Metabolism and for the Prevention of Obesity, Diabetes and Cardiovascular Disease, has received two honors in 2007. As the recipient of the 2007 Elvehjem Award for Public Service in Nutrition, Dr. King has been recognized for her scientific and distinguished service to the public through the science of Nutrition.

In addition, Dr. King was inducted into the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Agricultural Research Service Science Hall of Fame in honor to honor her outstanding national and international leadership and achievements in human nutrition. In particular, her work toward establishing new guidelines for healthful weight gain during pregnancy and new recommendations for daily intake of zinc were highlighted.

Dr. Theil, CHORI scientist in the Center for Nutrition and Metabolism, has been hand picked for the prestigious 2008 Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal Award by the American Chemical Society. Given in order to recognize distinguished research and service achieved by women chemists, the Garvan-Olin Medal Award is the 3rd oldest ACS award and the first award established to honor women chemists.

"I am honored by this recognition of my scientific accomplishments," says Dr. Theil, who was selected for the award as a result of her innovative and groundbreaking research on the chemistry of iron in biology and for her advocacy of biochemistry studies in the education of all chemists.

Last but certainly not least, Dr. Vichinsky, CHORI scientist in the Center for Sickle Cell and Thalassemia and chief of the hospital's division of Hematology/Oncology, has received two awards, the Chairman's Award for his work as a physician educator and advocate for sickle cell disease, and the Charles F. Whitten M.D. lecture award. The latter honors his wisdom and tireless dedication to patient advocacy. Both were received on the occasion of the 35th Anniversary of the National Sickle Cell Disease Program, National Heart Lung and Blood Institute, Institutes of Health, and the Sickle Cell Disease Association of America, Inc.


Monday, May 16, 2011 11:33 PM

© 2005 Children's Hospital Oakland Research Institute
5700 Martin Luther King Jr Way • Oakland, California 94609
Phone 510-450-7600 • Fax 510-450-7910
Site MapDisclaimerCHORI IntranetEmail Webmaster